Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In an age with rapid development of science and technology, it has become more important for businesses to train their employees. Some believe that keeping competitive is the responsibility of an individual. From my perspective, I will argue that it is a duty of businesses to train their employees. Corporate training is indispensable. As a new staff member in the company, it is difficult to be the one who can have combat power immediately. There are different corporate cultures, working rules, and professional knowledge in each company. A good company must have one or two days of corporate training for new staff members. This only provides employees with a basic level of knowledge. However, to keep competitive still depends on personal choice. In fact, it is only a minority of people who want to continue learning and increasing personal competitiveness. On the basis of this, companies can play a role in encouraging their employees to increase work abilities. Companies should provide opportunities of learning new skills and support employees who want to join on-the-job training. Basically, people are willing to learn new knowledge or skills because they realise that they do not have enough work abilities. In other words, when people feel that they need something new, they can learn and understand the new things more completely.  At the same time, companies provide opportunities for on-the-job training or seminars free of charge. As a result, companies do not need to force their staff members to increase their work skills, and employees can raise personal and corporate competitiveness as well.  Overall, if jobs require ongoing training to keep competitive, companies should support employees learning resources equally. I believe that only businesses take the responsibility of training, then it will be well developed.