Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree ?

Although over half of the employees are women, most of the chief executive officers are men. Some individuals believe that companies should provide an exact number of high-level positions for women. This essay totally disagrees with this statement because it is gender discrimination and makes other employees burn out.  The primary reason why this policy should not be implemented is that everyone, regardless of gender, should have equal opportunities for career advancement. Employees should focus on using their dominant and flawless work to prove that they deserve to be in a higher position, not because of their gender. To illustrate, the cosmetics company in Bangkok selects its chief by evaluating his performance. Therefore, it is possible for the only man in the company to get into this position. The second main reason why it is unacceptable to distribute a certain percentage of the executive officers to one gender is that it lessens the effectiveness of other employees ' performance. It cannot be denied that if they are aware that there are fewer opportunities for them to advance to higher-level positions, they will lose enthusiasm for their work, which will affect their abilities in the future. For example, in the fashion industry, designers seem to be more alert when competing with each other to take first place.  In conclusion, this essay believes that the allocation of higher positions should not be based on gender because it is unfair to another unselected gender and it reduces the efficiency of other people at the same time.