Employers should give their workers at least one month holiday a year as it makes them to do better at their job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is contended that employers should give their workers at least one month holiday a year, as it makes them perform better. One has to emphatically agree with this statement, though there are several areas of concern which need to be addressed. In the subsequent passages, we shall explore the pros and cons with suitable examples. The 24 X 7 workday, operating for 3 shifts a day is the creation of the modern industrial age. Humans were treated as economic assets only, and the effort was to extract maximum labour with minimum wages. Earlier too, the slaves were maltreated and made to work continuously. Slowly, after the spread of liberal democratic values, and academic research on the adverse effects of excessive work hours, the views on this subject changed. For example, in Sweden, researchers showed that workers who were given a month's leave for rest and recreation, performed much better than those who were denied leave. Negative examples in this context are the cases of fratricide, by stressed soldiers who are denied leave. Also, today, the work profile has shifted to white-collared jobs which needed intellectual efforts. Thus, employers have realized that providing holidays to the workers help them to rejuvenate themselves, and this boosts productivity. Nowadays, all major corporations follow liberal policies on holidays and they all rake up huge profits too. That being said, all companies and organizations may not be in a position to have a liberal leave policy. Imagine a soldier requesting leave in the middle of the war, or bank employees asking for a month's leave during the financial year-end. Another example is the case of start-ups and fledgling companies, who cannot be generous with their already meagre manpower. Thus, freedom should be given to the employers to choose the best occasion for providing the annual leave. Every schoolchild remembers the summer vacations. One goes to visit family and friends, have a gala, and come back to the school with fresh vigour. The month's leave annually exactly does the same thing for the adult. Hence, it is heartening to see that by and,large all organizations are adapting to this new protocol for an extended leave every year.