Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favor.

Smoking in public area continues to be a controversial topic; many people agree that it should be prohibited. However, there are strong views on both sides, and this essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, some people feel that the smoking is an individual rights issue, and should not be taken away. In addition, where to smoke depends on the one's decision. Take Asian countries as an example, in Japan, smoking in crowded places is considered to be discourteous; thus, in such places have a smoking section, where people gather to smoke. Moreover, critics of this side also highlight the reduction of economic growth, which excise taxes from cigarettes that account for a large percentage of the entire taxation has declined. With the passage of the tobacco law, the restriction has led some people to quit smoking; thus, it lessens the purchase. There is certainly some truth in this. On the other hand, those who support the regulation promote that there are various components of society such as juniors, adolescences, etc. in public places. Therefore, smoking in these areas should be banned because it sets a bad example for youngsters. Furthermore, it is often said that the cloud of smoke is injurious for second-hand smokes. They point to evidence that these people are more likely to develop lung cancer, which is the leading cause of cancer death worldwide, than smokers. Besides, the cloud disturbs comfort; (for instance) imagine sitting in a restaurant unable to enjoy the meal because of the smoke from neighbor’s table. After all, non-smokers are higher than active one’s; hence, the majority decides for the minority. In conclusion, I would tend to the side with supporters of laws. Because the positive effects regarding health issues, customs, and consolation outweigh the negatives.