Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Concerning the issue of construction people hold different views. While an army of individuals reckon that historic structures had better be torn down to give place to the novel ones. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement for many convincing reasons. On the one hand, there are many explanations to prove that pulling down these old buildings have certain advantages. First and foremost, the safety of the citizens can be ensured. To detail, these ancient architectures are degraded and can give adverse effects on the surrounding residents. For instance, an old building often has high humidity and mold that can cause some diseases related to the immune system or threaten people's lives as it may collapse suddenly. Moreover, a population explosion is happening so new accommodations are really vital. The government can build thousands of complexes such as residential areas and skyscrapers for the public. On the other hand, these constructions are part of the history so it should be preserved. First of all, the value of architecture is connected to the nation’s culture and past events. For example, buildings such as the Old ancient town of Hoi An can be tourist attractions to help people understand more about the country's development. Moreover, ancient construction can be repaired and passed down to the next generation as a way to maintain tradition. In conclusion, from what has been mentioned above, I can conclude that though old buildings are many inconveniences but it still a place to keep memories and real proof of past events.