A government’s role is only to provide defense capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that the governors should only try to provide vital requirements such as security, roads, water supplies, and so on, essential for normal function of a society and most of other responsibilities should be given to nongovernmental groups. Others believe that the government is responsible for all activities. In my opinion, it is better to give most activities to members of a community and only structural needs must be provided by government. On the one hand, although, if the government is responsible for anything in a population, it may cause everything according to the laws and there are less disturbances in social activities, because of noncompetitive quality of activities and less usage of individuals’ ideas, there is minor or no improvement in works. Accordingly, people who believed that they work for their government, are not very motivated to improve in their job. It is evidenced that for example, workers are not very productive when they feel that their attitudes have small or no effect on their work. On the other hand, in a society the main advantage of giving most activities except that of structural ones, to private groups is improvement and reduction in costs, both are due to the competitive quality of personal organizations. Moreover, less consumption of energy resources and thus saving them for the next generations is the other positive point, because of trying to reduce the price of activities. For instance, a manufacture tries to produce, more qualified and cheaper products than others, in order to sell more, which results in constant improvement in manufacturing. Thus in my belief, it is better for a society as a whole that private services are responsible for most activities, and government is only provide pivotal goods and exact supervision. In conclusion, despite the attitude that government should provide all job opportunities for people, in my belief, governors just should provide some main things needed for their country and private groups should be responsible for most activities in a healthy competition under comprehensive supervision of government.