Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool.Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Video game players are legion, especially since the last decade when playing those games has democratized the whole world. To that, many people assert that this activity could be beneficial for gamers due to the benefits that could be derived from it. Others, however, opine that there are several drawbacks to this new tendency. I personally agree with the latter statement. This essay will discuss both opinions and explain why video games can be harmful to players.  First and foremost, it is undeniable that gaming is entertaining and an excellent way to release off some steam. Indeed, people can have hours of fun playing on laptops, phones or tablets. Moreover, scientists assert that this activity pushes the brain to release endorphins, this hormone is used against anxiety. In addition to that, gamers can play video games whilst talking or chatting with their friends, this surely makes people share moments together and helps strengthen the bond they have. On the other hand, it is noticed by several that electronic games contain way too much graphic content. The majority of video games are based on killing or hurting opponents, this can only lead to a normalization of violence, especially among youngsters. Furthermore, I believe that playing those electronic games is a complete waste of time and energy, there are other ways to unwind such as reading a book or watching entertaining programs on TV. Another negative aspect is that gamers can easily become addicted to games, thus it pushes them to neglect their responsibilities in the real life. To sum up, no one can deny that video games are a great way to unwind and rest after a long day of work, provided that those games are played for a reasonable amount of time.