Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern society, many employers are of the opinion that formal qualifications are of greater significance than practical skills or an employee’s qualities in the recruitment process. This essay would attempt to shed light on the primary causes of this situation before elaborating the reason why this situation offers more demerits than merits to my knowledge. One of the reasons leading to why companies in recent years value theoretical knowledge over hands-on experiences is that for example, when a person has plenty of life experiences but he lacks all the academic knowledge, he would need much more time than other people to keep up with all the work. Especially in white-collar jobs, academic knowledge proves to be more critical than ever. This would also lead to the second reason of this situation is that if a person has all the theoretical knowledge needed for the job, it would save some time for his colleagues not having to help him learn the critical knowledge. This current situation proves to be more disadvantageous by making more schools in this day and age focus more on teaching theoretical knowledge rather than carrying out new teaching methods that help improve students’ practical skills such as encouraging interactive learning. Social skills and life experiences play pivotal roles in working environments they are still not placed in schools’ curriculum in the large majority of schools in modern times. In a nutshell, there are two main reasons supporting why formal academic qualifications are considered more than life experiences by employers and apart from that is the reason why this situation proves to have more disadvantages than advantages. Regarding the future, I hope school environments would develop more methods for training students’ practical skills besides just teaching academic knowledge.