Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Todays, the harmful effects of smoking on direct smokers as well as passive ones who breath cigarette smoke is well-known. Many countries have enacted laws to forbid smoking in public places while others do not tend to follow. In this essay, both sides of discussion will be debated. On the one hand, those countries who oppose enacting laws against cigarette smoking are dependent on importing or exporting tobacco -based products and cite that their economic conditions could be greatly influenced by such products. Critics of passing laws against smoking point to evidence from countries such as Afghanistan whose economy is massively supported by exporting opium in year. They claim that If the state warned people about harm effects of smoking on health system and incremented the taxation of tobacco products, this would be sufficient prohibitive (inhibitor) to their consumption and meet (address) the need of restricting rules for smoking. However, those who support enacting laws on smoking tobacco promote the idea that that smoking would have harmful impact on health system. So far, many papers have been published in high-impact journals highlighting how smoking would impose irrecoverable damage to infants, pregnant women and children leading to development of cancers, neurodegenerative disorders, and autoimmune diseases. Furthermore, proponents of limiting rules for smoking claim that employee who addicted to tobacco products should definitely meet their need every hour, thus either inevitably would leave their workplace or could not efficiently concentrate to complete their duty. They are able to cite evidence from countries like China where the government has set a penalty for smoking in industrial places and would put in prison if the offender repeated again. Overall, I would tend to side with the supportive countries of passing laws against smoking tobacco in public places like restaurants and administrative centers. It would be a determining decision which directly influence people’s health and consequently economy.