Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable that companies nowadays ask applicants to fill in the details about their personal choices and life such as their likes, dislikes and marital status. This practice is appreciated by a section of the society while opposed by others. Personally, I believe that revealing personal information anywhere in the job application is not beneficial. This essay will discuss both points of view, followed by a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, there are many people who consider that providing personal information to employers is advantageous for them because it enables the company to offer incentives that suit the interests of the staff. For example, employers sometimes offer free memberships of clubs and gym fitness centres, which is definitely helpful for workers. In India, product-based companies, for example, take all the relevant information about an applicant before offering a job and after joining, these companies provide free gym access and certain discounts on various clubs according to employee’s areas of interest. Hence, giving personal information is beneficial to some extent. On the other hand, many consider these details irrelevant and I agree with these people. Firstly, during the application for a job, personal information does not play any role. To explain it in more detail, an application should have all the details about the candidate’s technical experience and educational details because a position is offered only on the basis of the candidate’s ability and not because he is married or sporty. Secondly, sometimes firms show bias when they learn about a worker’s marital status. For example, a bachelor / an unmarried person) can work night shifts and he can work on weekends also because he is not married. Consequently, these companies may show a reluctance to hire married applicants. Therefore, making personal details available to companies could be harmful to workers. Also, companies do not need this information during the hiring process. To conclude, it is a common practice among companies to collect the personal information of their employees. However, I strongly believe that it is not helpful anywhere and sometimes it can have a negative impact on employees.