Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern society, the usage of social media and technology has significantly increase amongst all age groups. One may own a social media account for entertainment purposes or to connect and keep in touch with their loved ones. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of using social media. It can be safe if the individual knows how to use it cautiously without having to share personal information. On the one hand, there are many benefits of using social media that oughweights the negatives. Firstly, platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and Telegram serves as a dominant medium of communication. To explain further, most people are busy in their own lives, either working, studying, and travelling abroad. In order to interact with their family and friends, there are numerous websites that offer free calls and messanger which is very quick and convenient. Furthermore, social media help people of all ages to be aware of things that are happening in the world. Important information or news in everyday life such as current affairs, political events, crime, business, and sports are shared across these websites, which equip people with a wider knowledge. Finally, there is also an entertainment factor. After a stressful day at work, people may turn into social media to take a break and have a peaceful mind. They can surf these sites to occupy their time. These are the major merits of social media plaforms. However, there are a few drawbacks of social media. The most common and prominent issue is scams and online thefs threats theft. To elaborate, some hackers may create a similar account to disguise as someone you know. i.e. your friend. Let's say the hackers ask for your phone number because they claim that they have lost it. The hacker then may ask to share your personal details. Once the data is shared, even though your account is made private, hackers can use the information and do something to hack your account or steal your money. This could be the reason why certain people think social media is dangerous. To conclude, despite the disadvantages of social media, in my opinion, the benefits are more significant.