Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contributions to the company by giving them extra money.This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

In periods of rising unemployment,employers need to do very little to encourage their employees to work hard as employees may fear losing their jobs. In contrast,when job vacancies are scarce,they have to find methods of rewarding their workers to prevent them from taking work elsewhere. This can often be in the form of an individual financial reward. However, I argue that this can have a negative impact on other employees and that there are other practices worth considering. A common practice is to offer additional money to employees who are working exceptionally hard and this is often done in companies with products to sell. For example,estate agents,insurance salespeople and department stores can offer simple financial rewards for sales.Another approach that is of benefit to people who do not have direct access to the public is for management to offer a bonus to all staff at the end of the year if the profits are healthy. However, this does not allow the recognition of individuals who have genuinely worked harder than others. Another possibility is to identify excellent staff through various incentive schemes such as Employee of the Month to make people feel recognised. This might increase competition between employees and lead to increased productiveness.Coffee shops,hotels and restaurants may also allow staff to accept tips offered by customers and clients who are satisfied with the service. However, tipping is an unreliable source of money and does not favour everyone equally, therefore this may not be an effective practice. In my opinion, employees generally want to be recognised for their contributions whether through additional money or encouraging words.They also need to feel that their contribution to the whole organization is worthwhile. Therefore, good management should recognize this need and should respond appropriately