Some university students prefer to rent an apartment or room far from the university they are attending, while others like to stay near their place of study. Which do you prefer?

Choosing a place to live while studying at university is, certainly, a part of some students ´ decisions. This may have some of these future graduates deciding to live far from university campus, while others would incline themselves to stay close to their classrooms. In my opinion, if I had to choose a preference in this matter, I would undoubtedly prefer that students settle close to university as they will enjoy better and more convenient conditions. When living close to their place of study, students are more rested, as they would not be subjected to commute long distances. It is well known, undeniably, that travelling makes people tired, hence, by being just minutes away from their campus they will never be tired because of travelling. Another significant aspect that should be acknowledged relates to money savings, as not being forced to use paid transportation should positively allow students to feel more at ease in this matter, keeping more budget at hand. Furthermore, it is important to mention that more free time to be fully enjoyed may be available when living close to university, and time is a precious asset when we are under tight academic schedules. For example, as money saved and more time is available, students would be able to easily share with friends and classmates at sports, music and people gathering events. Nonetheless, living far from university might be beneficial. Choosing a suburb far away from the city centre or university living areas is, for instance, known to be less expensive. Definitely, this is especially true for students when it comes to saving money, as a great part of their budget would be spent in this segment. Nevertheless, this can be better outlined if we take into account that living alone is not necessarily the rule when choosing a place to live, therefore, students can always look for shared rooms and apartments at a very convenient price, cheaper than a whole apartment in a suburb, and nearby university facilities. To conclude, in spite of the fact that living far from campus might be a valid choice, it is without a doubt and by far more convenient to be close to the place we are studying due to the better conditions students will be under in terms of time and savings management.