It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Nowadays, parents apply different methods for raising their children.They believe that their child should be learned distinction between wrong and right in their childhood and punishment is the best way.in my,opinion these kinds of trends have negative effects on personality of children, so I strongly disagree this notion due to following reasons. One of the most important reasons that we should avoid punishment is that children are too innocent,and most of their performances are unintentionally.For,instance a pupil who picks up his classmate’s pencil is not a thief,and his action should not considered as an example of theft. We should explain him, why picking up other people’s belonging without permission is wrong, meanwhile punishment especially in public may have converse effects consequently either they become introverted or stubborn and rebellious. In addition, teaching right and wrong through punishment can embed this attitude that big people are able to torment smaller one.We have witnessed that older students started bullying in schools.Being aggressive, can therefore be another destructive effect of punishment. However, if teachers and parents are adamant to use punishment as a deterrent method, they should apply simple ones and avoid physical and mental penalties that make a permanent scar on their personalities. For instance, picking up rubbish, cleaning classes in school or banning children from watching tv are good examples of reasonable punishments. To conclude, punishment may causes converse effects on children especially in the future, but if it is urgent simple penalty can be sufficient.