In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

Gender-based preferences may be seen in some of the subjects opted by girls which tend to be more relating to arts whereas,in the case of boys, it appears to be more relevant to science while studying in schools or universities. Although the choice is based on their personal choices where females go for creativity and their male counterparts take a lead in the logistic approach, this trend must be amended with changing times. To commence with, women in the society are thought to carry a kind and humble persona which yields to distinct ideas that are replicated in their choice of subjects being more inclined to arts. For instance, girls are easily drifted away by excellency in dance performances, handicrafts and recreating something novel out of minuscules. This engrossment in the field of arts gives a lead to choose art-relevant subjects. This trail, however, has undergone drastic changes in modern times where the females are courageously stepping out of their introvert dome. With their male counterparts, being more involved in research and building up a rationale for every idea or plan, prefer to select science as the fundamental subject. Not only does this benefit their academic excellence but also prove beneficial to better future prospects. In this context, many male candidates who show a keen interest in maths and physics at an early age have definitely explored the field of science with basic tools available at their homes and thus promoting them for better opportunities in Science. Nevertheless, these traditionalistic choices have gradually evolved where boys have started to look for different subjects with a broader mind. In conclusion, though girls are biased towards arts as their subject due to their inclination towards creativity while boys have shown favouritism towards science subjects due to their logistic approach, this trend must change as it will erase the gender-based discrimination over the same and help evolve better people for future.