Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is the case? Do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent times there is a general consensus among job providers that an educational degree surpasses personal attributes or experiences garnered in life while selecting a person for a job. I firmly disagree with the above and believe that personal attitude and experiences cannot be compensated with a piece of an academic paper and are no less important. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this trend and provide my viewpoint. To begin with, there is no doubt that education is of paramount importance in order to build the requisite skillsets for employability. Many a time, employers are of the opinion that a degree from a prestigious university suffices the requirements of the job. This thought stems from the fact that since the candidate has gone through the rigours and discipline of the college, he is capable enough to handle the responsibilities of work. Furthermore, personality and life lessons take a backseat as the degree is considered to be the litmus test for employment. For example, because an individual is a graduate from an Ivy league college it becomes easier for him to get a lucrative and high paying assignment, despite other candidates having a relevant work profiles for the same assignment. At the same time, I feel it is negligent on the part of the employer to just consider a college degree and not prior work engagements, which is also proof of a persons character. At certain times, people are unable to pursue academics due to financial constraints but that does not mean that they are incapable of doing a project. In certain organisations, it has been observed that a person with prior exposure to situations, fares much better than his peers, who are more academically qualified than him in the same role. For example, Thomas Edison had no formal education but was considered one of the greatest inventor of his time. In conclusion, a degree is important for building the character of an individual but cannot be considered to be the sole metrics while selecting someone for a role. In my opinion, personality and capability of facing life situations are equally important if not more when selecting a candidate for work.