Some people think that there are things individuals can do to help prevent global climate change. Others believe that action by individuals is useless and irrelevant and that it is only governments and large businesses which can make a difference. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Mitigating global warming and climate change has become a critical issue for governments. There is an argument that whether it is individuals' responsibility or authorities' which I believe both of them are responsible for at some point On the one hand, people can contribute to preventing these environmental problems in two main ways. Firstly, if they use public transportation system rather than their private vehicles, it not only improves air and noise pollution but also decreases the amount of fuel consumption in driving. Secondly, buildings and the household sector use around 40% of total energy in a country. Therefore, individuals can positively affect that by proper use of energy at home or work. For example, it is more environmentally friendly to wear thicker clothes instead of overusing heating systems in winter. This has a great impact both on the amount of energy consumption and bills. On the other hand, governments and big companies play a key role in mitigating global climate change. They should improve the public transportation system by training and increasing vehicles as well as expanding the routes. People are likely to use this system more if they are comfortable, appropriate and regular to boot. In addition, it will be effective if authorities invest in renewable energy sources. The majority are dependent on energy, especially electricity, to live which can be produced by renewable energies such as solar and wind through the use of photovoltaic panels and turbines. In conclusion, it is vital to prevent global climate change by taking various measures and, in my opinion, it is both people's and governments' responsibility to take action.