Being able to purchase goods from any places in the planet has made nations around the world become almost identical. Do you think this is a possitive or negative development?

It is believed that due to globalization, global goods can now be exported to many countries regardless of distance, and this might reduce the uniqueness of nations around the world. In this essay, I believe that this is a worrying trend because the environment is taking a great toll from the global logistic activities and traditional goods can be threatened by imported products. Pollution from the logistic industry might bring a detrimental impact on the environment. This is true that a great amount of fossil fuels is used by ships and lorries to facilitate transportation processes. Therefore, the act of burning them creates emissions released into the atmosphere that cause global warming. For example, international environmentalists have discovered that because many products are shipped to western customers from China, our planet is facing an issue of the greenhouse effect from the release of CO2 in such activities. Moreover, countries might face the consequence of losing their unique culture to the invasion of alien products. That is to, say local products are competing with affordable price goods from countries that have the advantage of low labour costs. Consequently, local businesses which usually sell traditional products might eventually die out due to such fierce competition. For instance, in Vietnam, our 4000 years of the traditional silk manufacturing industry is facing a threat of losing the market to Chinese products since they are cheaper and come in great varieties. In conclusion, the ability to have goods to be delivered anywhere in the world creates many problems including emissions from transporting activities and the disappearance of traditional businesses due to heavy price competition.