The reason that most individuals are in debt is due to the overuse and irresponsible use of credit cards. Banks should not issue credit cards unless they are completely sure of an individual’s ability to pay back their debts. To what extent do you agree with this?

Nowadays, using credit cards is one of the most popular payment methods all over the world. However, debt is becoming considerably common because of the fact that people frequently overspend their money, as well as fail to pay it off in time. I strongly agree that banks should elaborately check every individual’s credibility and reliability before issuing a credit card. Some reasons for that will be introduced in this essay. Firstly, the convenience of swiping a credit card makes purchases easier in today’s world. In this case, young people are more likely to overuse money by consuming different products. For example, some people like to buy top brands of clothes which are significantly expensive without considering their prices. Therefore, it is essential for banks to assess people ’s buying behaviour to estimate the opportunity of being in debt. Secondly, an increasing number of people are not able to estimate their ability to pay off credit cards due to the rise of the cost of living, which results in debt that will happen in everyone’s life much easier than before. For instance, most individuals need to spend on education, housing, utilities, food and entertainment on a monthly basis, and a large segment of these activities can be paid for by credit cards. To conclude, for these two reasons I mentioned above, I totally agree that banks should develop adequate assessment policies and set a maximin limit of the amount of money people can borrow precisely to calculate the individual’s ability to pay before issuing a credit card.