Many people are working at home rather than in the workplace. Some people believe this will bring benefits to the workers and their families, but others suggest it will cause stress in the home. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the current world, with global health crises like COVID-19 people have a proclivity for working from home as compared to the office. Considering this opinion, few people believe that the decision has a meritorious impact on the employees and their families. However, opponents suggest that it causes an increase in stress in the home. In my opinion, working from home is the main reason for the increase in stress. Firstly, working at their home usually provides various psychological merits to both the workers and their families. To begin with, it allows them to spend more time with their families and also allows them to have the proper nourishment for their children. Moreover, spending time allows them to follow their family commitments, thereby allowing them more involved as a part of the family rather than being excluded. Furthermore, it increases the overall productivity of their work, because of the increased family bonding between them and family members. Despite all the benefits, it drastically affects their mental health because of the increased work pressure from their employer. To begin with,with demerits, when working from home, people usually don't maintain their office timeline and prefer to work throughout the day. Since all the resources are available to them it prevents them to maintain a strict timeline of work, thereby not working for a fixed amount of time. As a consequence, due to increase in working hours, eventually leads to a mental breakdown for these employees. Furthermore, employers often assign more work to these employees to be completed in a limited time span, eventually causing more mental pressure because of the project timelines. This eventually causes them to overlook their daily family tasks, eventually exacerbating the situation because of health-related issues. As evidence of that, the recent survey conducted by the United workforce in the state of California, found that 90% of employees suffer from mental stress when working from home. To sum up, even though working has some positive impact on their families, it drastically impacts their health both mental and physical, eventually causing an increase in stress.