As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Nowadays, work tasks have taken up a high proportion of adult daily life. So the contentment of jobs has a crucial impact on individual wellbeing. Two factors play a role in job satisfaction. I believe that an essential element is salaries. When people earn more money, they can better enjoy their lives and support their families more, such as sending their children to an elite school and having a vacation abroad. Given the benefits brought by high salaries, the employees will enjoy their current job. Another factor is whether the citizens are able to obtain a sense of value. When they feel their efforts can make a contribution to society, a sense of fulfillment will be produced, and the employees are likely to be satisfied with their work. But it is unrealistic to satisfy all individuals. The limited capital resources mean that companies cannot provide abundant funds to each person. Employers are prone to promote employees who have specialized skills and are able to be harnessed to the company’s prospects. And that means some people have little chance of gaining a higher salary, and they are likely to be disappointed with their work. And I think boring work tasks and the poor relationship with their colleagues are also significant factors. The people who have repetitive jobs and cannot get well with others around them will easily hate their work and lack a sense of security. In conclusion, it is unlikely that all workers feel happy, but some measures such as raising salaries and arranging some interesting activities can be implemented to create a harmonious atmosphere in the workplace and a positive attitude to work. It will be effective in promoting job satisfaction and further improving individual wellbeing.