You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Today family members do not eat meals together. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Family used to be a unit that shares common religious, comments, and experiences. Nowadays, however, family members usually do not consume at the same table or same place. In my opinion, I think this effect brings negative impact on not only family relationships but also our society. First of all, since technology keep advancing, poeple have lots of entertainment can enjoy when they are dining. Even at home, they can watch TV, use mobile phone, and play video games without having communicaiton with their family. For example, the only meal I eat at home is dinner; however, when I am eating dinner, my mom is watching television. At the same time, I can only read novels by ipad since my mom still indulges in soap drama. In addition, every job has different time to go home, so it is hard for a family to have same dinning time. For instance, my mom usually return home and eat dinner at 18:00, but I just finish my work at that time. Moreover, in Taiwan, it is hard to eat at home because not all of the families have kitchen at their home. As a result, many people choose to eat outside and go home just for a place to sleep. This turns out some problems that some children may feel alone when they are at home. At the same time, they may refuse or miss the care from their parents. In the past, we ate together and share what happened to us at that day and made a closer bonds during dinning time, whereas our time has been replaced by virtual items. We may never know what happened on our family members and miis the chance to help them. To sum up, the importance of family members eating together can not be over-emphasized. For me, a family is designed to function as a whole and a place for us to release our thought. I think every one must find a way to create a balance between work and family time.