Nowadays, some employers thought formal academic qualification are more important than life experience and personal qualities when they look for new employees.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Academic credentials are considered relatively important compared to life experience and personality traits by human resource managers while hiring people currently. Although educational background can represent a person’s ability to some extent, I do not agree that its significance utterly outweighs the other counterparts. Admittedly, taking academic background as a priority in recruit procedures exerts certain virtues. First of all, school credentials can be seen as a summarization of people’s skills. The capability of problem dealing and task accomplishing on schoolwork is directly reflected in school transcripts and credentials, which are essential factors for an employee. Another merit of giving weight to academic qualifications is that it speeds the process of seeking new hirelings. Employers can regard school credentials as pre-sifters of interviewees. For instance, people with better education backgrounds are usually relatively competitive among their peers. However, personalities and life experiences are vital for new hires as well. To be specific, well performance in the curriculum cannot stand for a person’s capacity entirely. Some indispensable skills for work, such as creativity and flexibility, are not scored in schools. Therefore it is essential to take not only academic qualifications but also personality traits into account while interviewing. Second, schools are not the only method to study. Most of the competence required for a job can be learnt from experiences. For example, social and communication skills can be trained and practiced through experiencing ups and downs in life. In conclusion, though it is understandable that academic qualifications are sometimes regarded as the crucial factor when recruiting, I believe that it is not the only circumstance to define whether a person is suitable for a job, conversely, both life experiences and personal traits might worth more consideration.