A lot of companies and organisations require employees to wear unifroms. Which kind of jobs are uniforms suitable for? Are there any disvantages to wearing a uniform to work?

To present as a group, the requirement of uniforms is applied in many workplaces. Because unified clothes are symbolized the core thinking of the companies, lots of Asian employers regulate their staff to follow them. It makes already introverted Asians too pressured to express themselves. Later, I will not only illustrate what kinds of positions are required to wear them but also elaborate more details about the drawbacks of indistinguishable appearance in the below paragraphs. Where we can observe people wearing the same costumes? Firstly, the most common places would be restaurants. The main reason is that waiters or waitresses with the same appearance tend to be recognized noticeably, which is more accessible for guests to fetch their services. Secondly, to demonstrate individual employer is a member of the same company. I would say people dressed the same is commonly noticed in Asian working environments. Taking Taiwanese banking receptionists as examples, they are ruled to wear similar clothes to represent the professional images of banks. Although the principles of uniforms are effortless to manage for every individual in a community, it is beneficial to most organizations hence. However, it presses company members to express their distinctive personalities. As a result of it, not only the individual characteristics can be eliminated, but also freedom of speaking can be rooted out unspokenly. In addition, the elephant in the room happens more often in this kind of environment, because no one is encouraged to point out problems in their jobs. In summary, uniforms can be double-edged swords. On one hand, it would be suitable for some working positions, which are easily manageable for recruiters. On the other hand, from employees’ point of view, they can’t give their opinions voices. Without any suggestion, the companies will not improve anymore to build a better working environment.