In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Industries and businesses are being encouraged to reallocate to local areas by governments in some parts of the world. While this trend has some positive points, namely reducing pollution and traffic congestion in urban centers, it has some drawbacks. The first advantage is that cities will suffer from less air pollution. If factories, which produce enormous amounts of toxic gases such as sulfur, methane and carbon dioxide, work out of the cities, their fumes will not be released to the atmosphere above urban areas. Another positive point is reducing traffic congestion in towns, since many people who work in companies and industries will not need to move around the cities and they will commute from the ring road. On the other hand moving business and industries out of cities will make people spend too much time getting to work. They will be far from their homes and they are going to waste a long time on the way to get to industrial areas. Furthermore, the destination may cause some problems for people who work there. For example, if they are injured, medical facilities and hospitals are not going to be available for them and it takes a long time to get to the hospital in the cities. Finally there are lots of benefits to move the businesses and industries out of the cities but it is important to notice the negative aspects like wasting time and the destination.