Some people today believe that the world increases in population is unsustainable and will eventually lead to a global crisis. Other people believe that world population increase is necessary and beneficial as it creates the growth of the world’s economy and society -Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Nowadays the global population counts around 7 billion people, and it seems it will increase in the future. About this topic different points of view have emerged. From one hand some consider it as the natural result of an improving of the quality of life, others are more concerned about the possibly bad consequences of a global overpopulation. Historically the population growth has always been quite slow until important new discoveries were made, allowing better life conditions, making more food available and improving the health conditions of the population. In this way the higher average lifetime is related to an increasing number of people. For this reason, is somehow true that it is an effect of positive social changes. From the other hand, an excessive growth can lead to many problems in the future caused by the limited resources of the Earth. Apart from that, most developed countries have lower fertility rates and this can suggest a certain grade of correlation between fertility and poverty. Nowadays this situation is particularly present in African countries but in the past 100 years this was the case in most Asian countries. The situation has changed due to three main causes. First of all a wider access to education allowed women to take care of their working careers and decreased the average age of first -time mothers. Then a better health care decreased the children mortality rate and finally the availability of contraception led to a better family planning. For this reason, it is possible to change this pattern though fair investments. However, this can be not enough and maybe it is not the main reason of a future global crisis. The main problem nowadays is not the excessive number of individuals in the world but the non-homogeneous distribution of resources among them.