In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In this modern world the causes of crime are shooting up, and some cities already implemented cameras for safety reasons. But at the same,time some are saying this restricts individual freedom. In my,opinion this system definitely benefits and outweighs the drawbacks. The following paragraphs discuss its advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, having a camcorder system in public places really scares the people to do something against the public and the law, thus we can reduce the number of criminal incidents. For example,in the state of Kerala,in India, video cameras are placed most of the main cities and the government noticed that after installing this method, the police cases are reduced. Moreover, society feels safer than the previous time, for instance,if they want to walk or travel late at night, people are more comfortable and feel secure. At the same time, some generations think that, it will affect their privacy by catching up on their faces and activity through the camcorder, but they should not forget about the positive aspect of having this system. The community is afraid that, if someone misuses the camera by watching their daily movement through the video clips, it is easy to trace them and kidnap or smuggle their valuable home items. For instance, in India a man was attacked after he returned back home from the bank, the theft got the information through the public camcorder. To conclude, even though, people are questioning their privacy by having a camera in the public areas, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, by creating a secure and comfortable environment and building up a future with fewer criminal cases.