The government should allocate more funding to teaching science rather than to other subjects in order for the country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the government should distribute more allowances to science subjects instead of to other subjects in order to maximize the country's growth and development. I partially agree with this statement and I will provide an explanation in the following paragraphs. Firstly, science plays a huge role in healthcare development. This is extremely important as we need more medical specialists to treat unusual conditions and scientists in researching cure against deadly disease such as cancer. Therefore, with better facilities and teaching materials from the government funding, a higher chance of children would be influenced to develop an interest to learn science. As a result, the number of potential candidates to work as medical specialists or scientists in the future would increase. Secondly, subjects such as art and music have no impact in a country's growth. These subjects contribute neither treating illnesses nor build a faster computer for efficient information processing, they are solely for entertainment purposes. The contribution from these subjects to the country's progression has placed them a lower priority than science subjects, which reduces the need of the government sponsorship. On the other hand, there are other subjects that can help children to becoming more competent in accelerating the country's progress. For example, studying language can help children to be better at conveying their thoughts, and learning English in non-English speaking countries is crucial in international communication. Therefore, children should not be focusing only on scientific theory, but learning how to explain their thought process to others is important as well. In conclusion, I think that while the government should allocate more funding to science subjects, it should not be at the expense of subjects such as language or communication skills.