Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

It is commonly believed that liquor is one of the vital reasons for criminal activities, and it should be banned to decrease the crime rate. In my opinion, alcohol needs to be controlled and restricted, but for various reasons, I think that completely banning liquor cannot cope with criminal occasions, and I will discuss this topic in this essay. On the one hand, if liquor is forbidden in the whole country and people cannot buy it at any legal stores, they may turn to find other illegal markets to get it. For example, the drug problem is a massive crime in many countries because the drugs that cause health problems cannot sell legally, and people buy them from criminals. To decline the group crimes, some governments try to provide similar drugs to those people who are drug-addicted. If purchasing alcohol in shops becomes illegal, it will face the same problem as drugs. On the other hand, the government can use different ways to prevent liquor -related wrongdoing, such as through education and legislation. In school, teachers need to teach students how to drink alcohol correctly, such as not over-drinking and don’t drive after drinking. Controlling alcohol selling and punishing the criminals related to alcohol by the strict law is another way to decline the crimes. In conclusion, although liquor can be a reason for violation, prohibiting alcohol may cause other criminal occasions and not decrease the crime rate. The government and society can use other effective ways to prevent alcohol -related crimes.