Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects- Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, with the development of education more and more people are willing to care the subject allocation in school. There is an argument that some people believe history is more important than STEM (Science, Technology, Economy and Mathematics) subjects. In my view, history should be equally important as Science and Technology. On the one hand, those people who support that history is more vital than other subjects may believe that students should not forget the history and traditional culture. Indeed, history is the basic cultural root of countries. For instance, the young generations who are interested in historical events and books might value their lives as they can learn how humans developed for thousands of years and how difficult they can live in a peaceful world. On the other hand, Technology and Science are fundamentally important fileds as it promote the rapid development of urban society and economy. Due to the jump in economy, a large number of children have opportunities to attend universities and gain well education because of the free admission fee for compulsory school. Besides, transportation costs can be greatly reduced. If more students are involved in technology and science, the economy will gain a jump. In conclusion, My view is that school should place equal stress on history and STEM. Although technology and science play a vital role in the society, history also allows students to learn how to be valuable people and contribute to society. Schools should not take priority to focus on history or STEM subjects, and they should give students more choices to engage in different fields.