Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Business owners at times want to know the private details of job applicants. These data include their marital status, interests and hobbies. Although certain persons think that this information is necessary and important, some others do not. I am however of the opinion that they do not play any role in the recruitment of capable individuals into a company. The school of thought that believes that the personal data of prospective employees are relevant does so because, firstly, they play a major role in streamlining the best fits for the advertised work. For example, for a job that will include lots of travelling and working late hours, employers will opt for candidates who are single and love to travel. Additionally, it enables business owners to know their future staff personally and to also identify those who share the same interests with their companies. On the other hand, the high likelihood that the knowledge of this information could affect the objectivity of recruiting the most qualified candidate is the major argument for those who do not see its relevance. That is, a less qualified individual, for instance, can be an as a result of being single, young and probably having an interest in tennis just like the employer. Consequently, the most qualified lose out. In addition, the absolute belief that the personal information of a person has nothing to do with his ability to perform in a given job role is another reason these questions should not be asked. In my opinion, I agree that interested people applying for an appointment should not be asked questions that are seen to be private as doing so may affect the judgment of the exercise. Moreover, all work seekers should be assessed on a fair and equal basis which should primarily be their skills and professional backgrounds. In conclusion, the importance of personal data such as hobbies and marital status in recruitment processes has always been debated. While some people believe that they are important, others do not. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that they are not useful in the recruitment process of capable persons.