Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countries such as Australia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study in English? Why is English such an important international language? Give reasons.

Language is a method to verbally communicate with people. Out of thousands of languages in the world, English is one of the most widely spoken languages. In this essay, I would discuss the reasons behind the popularity of English as well as the importance of English as a language. To begin with, English provides a platform for people from different nations to communicate. For example, for people from Hong Kong and Korea to communicate, it would be difficult for them to learn a new language, as a result, they would use English to allow the communication roll in. Furthermore, there are a lot of merit schools from English -speaking counties such as Oxford and Cambridge in the UK as well as Havard in America. Students aim to study in these schools as they provide excellent research and development opportunities and amazing future prospects. Hence, teenagers try their very best to excel in English to gain the opportunity to get into their dream institutions. English is a vital language as most people in the world know at least know some of it. For instance in Hong Kong, it is essential for us to learn English since elementary school, similar to subjects such as maths and science, it places an important role in our study. Eventually, English becomes more significant as there is a rising trend where people are good at it. Nevertheless, English is used during international conferences between different nations, such as meeting between NGOs, which suggests that English is essential as it allows meetings between different countries to take place. In conclusion, English is a broadly spoken language and is fundamental to grant communication between different states. Without English, the communication between people would be challenging and may hinder the development of countries.