Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some experts that the interview is the main factor by which an employee should get a chance to work in an organization. However, Some are against this perception and think that this is not the only way of selecting an individual, there can be other reliable methods by which the workforce can be chosen. I agree with the latter view to some extent. There are myriad reasons why an employer finds an interview to be the best way among all other alternatives. Firstly, It includes face-to-face interaction with the person which can benefit the employer in understanding the real potential of people. Secondly, It is helpful in accessing the traits related to their personality, especially, their communication skills which are necessary for an employee to work in any department. In addition to it, an interviewer can judge the mental ability of the humans by providing them with the tasks related to their capability. Apart from this, It is also believed by companies that it assists them in hiring the right person in comparison to other competitive exams. For instance, It might be possible that a person with a good academic result is not able to perform a particular task, therefore, resulting in lower productivity. Furthermore, It is not possible to ensure the correctness of the details mentioned in the curriculum vitae by the candidate in other selection forms. Although It has various advantages which overweigh the disadvantages yet I believe that there should be a mix of both terminologies in order to appoint a worker in a company. There are some jobs which did not require personal skills, such as these are not mandatory for the post of a computer operator. Only written and theoretical knowledge is enough to fill the vacancy for this post. To sum up, I would like to reiterate that if I consider it logically then I believe there are some jobs for which there is no need to conduct an interview. So, it is wise to say that firms should use a combination of these terms depending upon the requirement of a particular position when selecting an employee.