Schools should only teach academic subjects like math and science, and disregard non-academic subjects like music and sports. Do you agree or disagree?

Schools teach an assortment of subjects and courses, but some support the idea that academic subjects should be the staple and more practical subjects should not be taught. I strongly disagree with this notion. The main role that schools play is to broaden horizons. Some students might not have been introduced to certain subjects needed in their career. We usually focus on what has been programmed since childhood. In cases where both parents are musicians, the musical field is sometimes the only area of focus. Students lose the choice to discover and deviate because they haven't seen all that there is to offer. Finally, non-academic subjects offer skills that can be used in academic subjects and vice versa. Different areas of learning utilize disciplines that might not be present in another. Perseverance while training for sports can translate into perseverance while studying for biology exams. By giving students the platform to learn these disciplines, students are well-equipped to deal with a variety of problems. Furthermore, individuals have different aptitudes that can only be explored once a subject is introduced. It is the school's job to introduce these subjects to give students a taste of something new. Teachers can further reinforce this newfound inclination by acknowledging a student's strength towards such subjects. This can be the fuel to further encourage the pursuit to deeper learning that can lead to fostering one of the great minds on a certain subject. In conclusion, I don't believe schools should only focus on academic subjects. From my perspective, teaching both aspects help strengthen learners and it develops a more balanced individual who can adapt to different problems.