Some people argue that flights around the world should be reduced dramatically in order to help prevent climate change. Supporters of this idea claim that people should switch to using trains or public transport. Do you believe this is a good solution?

The airline industry is thought to be one of the major impacts of climate change. Thus, some people contend that individuals should decrease travelling by aeroplanes, and in order to cut down carbon dioxide emissions, using order forms of public transportation is a better alternative to do so. From my perspective, I am on the fence, as this is not a reasonable way, and the governments shall implement regulations to meet the balance. First of all, it might be difficult for many people to reduce the use of air travel. As globalisation has become a norm, it is inevitable for businesspeople of multinational companies to travel across global for trading. For instance, if the traders want to make further business deals, they will have to participate in meetings or conferences abroad in person. Moreover, in recent decades, the demand for flights has seen a significant increase due to a considerable trend of immigration which resulted in the number of people visiting friends and family has risen. Secondly, despite many public believing that air travel should be cut dramatically, I would argue that the authorities have to carry out some regulations to provide citizens with a more plausible solution. For example, the governments could offer incentives to encourage their citizens to use public transport. In addition, for some, people if travelling by aeroplanes is necessary, then the governments can provide an award to the traveller who has reduced their carbon footprints. In Taiwan, there is a smartphone application, created by a government organisation, you can check your carbon footprints on that app. should the residents be able to decrease their footprints, the bonuses which enable them to use it on the next trip will add up to the accounts. In conclusion, I believe that preventing people from travelling by aeroplanes is not a great method to help mitigate climate change. It would be easier to do so if the governments could act smartly, and provide a win-win solution.