Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the view that history is paramount in the present education system while others are of the opinion that science and technology is more significant in our 21st century school system. This essay will support the later notion. However, the two different views will be outlined after which a meaningful conclusion will also be drawn. On one hand, science and technology have improved means of communication. With the advent of cell phones, laptops and many more devices, communication is now easy and information around the globe can be easily accessed compared to the ancient days. For instance, interacting with loved ones within and outside the country is now easy compared to the past when these devices were not there likewise access to recent happenings around the globe is now within reach. On the other hand, preservation of culture is one of the main reasons some individuals believe that history is more important than science and technology. With the development of our societies, the younger generation should be taught history lessons in schools so that they will become aware of their past events and cultural heritage. For example, this will help the children know when Nigeria was created, how she got her independence and it’s national coat of arm.The national anthem and pledge would have been a thing of the past by now but with history, children still sing the national anthem in their various places of education. In conclusion, after assessing the two views, it is worthy of note that though studying history is good and preserve our cultural heritage, science and technology will benefit and improve our lives more. I will therefore recommend that the government should build more institutions of science and technology to encourage the youth.