Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Do you agree/disagree with this view?

With the increase of social competition, more and more human resource managers (HRM) prefer job applicants with advanced educational background. This phenomenon implies that academic qualifications become more important than that personal. In the following contents, reasons will be illustrated and opinion will be stated. What causes the situation is the increase of the number of candidates. In the current labor market, numerous people exist. In order to select qualified individuals, universities where they graduate from can be the first step of making the talent pool smaller. For instance, among international corporations, they only demand for those who are from top 50 colleges in QS or USNews rankings. Moreover, qualities of universities also indicates personal abilities. There is a direct proportional relationship between college ranking and employer satisfaction. Therefore, rationally thinking, for managers, it is reasonable to prefer graduations from high-quality schools: less probilities that managers recruit employees with bad behaviors occur. However, from my perspective, although this action is justified, it should not be encouraged. It shows an inequality - people's abilities are judged by the certification they hold as the only criterion. Moreover, the purpose for the existance of HRMs is finding the suitable applicants. In addition, it is too inductive to believe better universities are the symbols of better abilities. There is an evidence that an Oxford PPE graduate became unemployed because he had learned nothing. In conclusion, reasons why HRMs prefer candidates from advanced universities are the lower risks to obtain awful employees and easier to select talents; therefore, it is reasonable. Whereas, I disagree with this statement since it shows inequality and induction. From my perspective, academic qualifications can be a part of evaluation with the combination of other qualities.