Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

In the modern world, over half the workforce is made of women. but the majority of senior positions are occupied by men. This essay argues that there should be an allocated quota of high ranks for women because they are more diligent workers and in compensation for the inequality that they face. Firstly, Women work harder than men in all sectors. Rarely do you witness a man out-perform a woman academically or in the workplace. They achieve the top grades in schools and universities and are ambitious in their occupations. But when it comes to powerful positions in companies, they are nowhere to be seen. For instance, in the United Kingdom at the university level, 75% of top achievers are women, graduating with distinctions. If girls fill the top tier in all institutions until they enter the workplace, then they should also be reaching the peaks of their careers. But they do not because of extrinsic factors. Furthermore, traditionally male-dominated careers are loitered with inequality, which makes sure a woman is penalised for being female. Allocating a certain number of positions will ensure that, irrespective of the inequality a woman faces, they can achieve what they are destined to. For example, in careers like medicine and surgery, which are typically all-boys clubs, women are punished for taking time out of their pathway to have children, by delaying their journey to consultancy. In conclusion, I believe there should definitely be an allotted number of high-ranking seats for women, to ensure gender does not play a role in the hiring of officials, who surpass men in every challenge in life and are given an equal opportunity to rise to the level that they deserve, instead of falling prey to the patriarchy.