The best way to solve the traffic congestion in the city is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, heavy traffic jam has become a challenging problem in many cities. Some argue that the government should provide free public transport to tackle this problem. In my opinion, free public transport is a great idea, but it is not a viable way to ease traffic congestion. Round-the-clock free public transport can indeed reduce the occurrence of traffic congestion because, in most cases, traffic issues are caused by the presence of a large number of private vehicles on the road. Few people will want to drive their vehicles if public transportation services are provided free of cost and the government increases their frequency. This will theoretically reduce the number of cars on the roads and ease traffic congestion. On the flip side, buses and trains will become overcrowded when there are too many takers for free public transport. This will make the journey uncomfortable, and many people will have to stand all the way. As a result, affluent commuters will choose not to use public transport. Instead, they will drive their own car to work, and the traffic situation will worsen again. Another disadvantage of providing free public transport is that it is a considerable burden on the government, which is not a viable idea in the long term. Personally, I feel that instead of providing free public transport, the government should try to improve the frequency and reliability of buses and trains. It should also build wider roads. If people can ride comfortably on a bus or a train and still reach their destination on time, they will definitely consider that option. Hence, instead of making public transport a free service, the government needs to improve it. In addition, the government needs to ensure that the cost of travelling by bus or train is always less than the cost of driving one’s vehicle. To conclude, free public transport might seem a great way to tackle traffic congestion, but in my opinion, it is not a practical solution. A better option is to enhance the quality of public transport and subsidize its cost.