Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recruiters nowadays ask the candidate related to their hobbies and interests and about their personal life whether they are married or single. Some people believe that these details may be relevant and useful while others vary. Therefore, I agree with the former view of this statement and this essay will describe both views. To begin with, an important aspect of screening potential employees includes their marital status. It gives an idea to the organization about how long the candidate will continue the job. Moreover, their marital status shows the correct direction to the company regarding accepting transfers and working on new projects because it is possible that candidates could not able to settle down into new surroundings. Furthermore, hobbies and interests allow to determine the level of a person’s ability, it is showing that an employee can work as a team player, and these things help applicants to handle the job. On the other hand, it can be argued that above the things cannot give a detailed aspect of the candidate. Human resources executives stress the importance of an interview such as face-to-face meetings to give a better perspective of the applicant, also they believe that selection must be based on a person’s knowledge and experience for the particular job and its requirements. In addition, hobbies and interests should not be given more importance during the interview procedure. To conclude, some candidates consider personal information relevant and useful. In contrast, others believe that a person’s abilities and interests improve their performance, and help in the selection process. This information is always beneficial to the company, as it helps to take a proper decision for hiring the candidate.