Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Working in an organisation teaches us politeness, increase our patience level, and enhance knowledge and skills. While some people believe that sharing personal information such as hobbies, interests and marital status is useful or not, others argued that these details are not relevant and helpful. This essay will first discuss both these views, and then will explain my personal opinion. To begin with, the people who form their view about sharing personal details with employers might be considering several factors behind it. In an organization, organizing cultural events and programs could be one of the reasons with the help of hobbies and interests information. In other words, due to collecting personal information, these events will cause positive effects on the applicants such as reducing stress and workload of employees. Secondly, Hobbies and Interests information are might be a reason to understand a candidate’s personality, it is important for the organization to know about their behaviour pattern, and soft skills through their personality. For instance, whether the applicant prefers to work alone or in a group could be an indicator of the candidate’s performance. On the other hand, sharing personal information in a professional organization does not useful and relevant. In other words, an organization may hire the best-qualified candidates who have privacy concerns by asking about hobbies, interests and marital status. For instance, In a survey conducted by “Times of India”, it has been observed that 50% of women do not want to share marital status because of multiple reasons for married life. Many companies hire a single woman, additionally, is an essential factor to be considered. Generally, it is believed that single women will work with more dedication and enthusiasm. To conclude, some employers consider personal information unimportant and may think it is not useful. However, I personally believe that personal information such as hobbies, and interests that create a stress-free environment during recreational activities should be shared while applying for the job, and marital status should not be disclosed.