Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Some companies believe that paying workers extra money can encourage them to work harder. Money, however, is not the only motivating factor for them to work hard. In my view, although money is a very important factor in daily life, it is not for everyone, and there are some other alternatives which will be given in the following essay. There are a couple of reasons why giving employees extra wages might not be the most efficient way. First and foremost, the most important one is that some employees would rather have more free time to enjoy their hobbies, hangout with friends, or travel, instead of giving them more money, thus, the company should have an option to trade extra working hours for holidays. Secondly, giving employees extra wages can cause conflict among workers, especially if the company does not have an exact measurement when they can get more paid and this can make management and accounting team have more jobs, which in my opinion is unfair for them. Money, on the other hand, can be an efficient tool to encourage some groups of people to work harder. Firstly, it obvious that every employee is working to earn(ed) as much money as they can, so there is no doubt as to why they are working there. In some work that have to deal with sales, money might motivate them well and be understandable to other(s) teams in the company, so example for the sales team, if salespeople can close(d) the deal with customers, they can be rewarded with bonuses or commissions. In conclusion, it can be said that employers should use diverse methods to encourage them based on their interest and behaviour.