Men and women are different in terms of their characteristics and abilities. For this reason, some jobs are better done by men and others by women. Do you agree or Disagree?

Nowadays, the awareness of gender equality has significantly increased. Whether or not some occupations have been gender stereotyped by the public’s old-fashioned opinion has become a widely debated topic. Despite the fact that some argue employers should select candidates by work experience and ethics, the majority, however, remain sceptical. This essay seeks to explore the advantage of forfeiting gender stereotypes in jobs. First and foremost, there are some people who believe the negative impacts of gender stereotypes outweigh the positives by far. The main reason for this is that modern education has provided equal opportunity to both males and females. According to the recent interviews conducted by the University of Wales have indicated that seventy percent of the companies had employed their staff based on their work experiences and educational backgrounds, and not on their genders. In sum, genders are no longer a concern for many occupations. A further point is that many companies make a strong point that many positions have a great mix of genders in the last decade. It is often argued that some careers are better suited for a specific gender. This, however, has been proven to be incorrect. A striking illustration is that Hong Kong Fire Service Department is known to consist of mainly male officers in the past due to it being a physically demanding job; however, recent research has shown that there is a major increase of female officers and more than sixty percent of them are involved in the front line duties. As a result, this has shown the government has not only resolved gender equality in employment opportunities, but also demonstrated the possibility of it for commercial businesses. In short, having discussed the changes in gender stereotypes in careers, I contend that the positive impacts of giving up the traditional stereotypes outweigh the negatives by far. It is my belief that the conception of gender -specific jobs should be erased for good, people should be able to pursue their dreams without disregarding their sexual identities.