Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is argued by some that universities should give graduates with the knowledge and skills that have a high demand in the workplace, while others think that universities should give only a knowledge without regarding it is useful to an employer. I believe that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills that are required in the workplace because it would allow them to get a job rapidly and the number of skilled workers would increase. The main reason why the universities should give graduates with the knowledge and skills that are valuable in the workplace is that it would facilitate getting a job quickly. This is because the graduates had already equipped with practical skills required in the workplace and the employers favour them because they will not spend more money on these new staff. For example, nurses in the USA gets job quickly when they graduate from university because they have already taken practicals in hospitals. The second reason why universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills that are needed in the workplace is that it will increase the number of skilled workers. This reason is to fill the gap of shortage of skilled workers in nowadays. For instance, Canada decided to give a subsidy to the universities to increase the production of skilled workers in order to reduce the shortage of skilled workers in the country. In conclusion, I believe that universities should produce graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the market because this would allow graduates to get jobs easily and the skilled workers would grow their numbers.