Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is apparently true that tourism nowadays generates a number of concerns, such as pollution due to the aviation industry, water pollution, and traffic jams. However, I believe that authorities should not put any burden such as taxes to impact it. It is a debatable and controversial essay. However, I have given my justification below. Tourism is highly regarded as a benefit to any country in the world. In other words, it brings revenues, and cash flow and makes the economy stronger. It creates employment prospects, and more infrastructure and facilities within the country. Undoubtedly, it is one of the contributors to pollution due to traffic-related issues and water pollution but tourism is not only solely responsible. In addition, the solution will not be realized even if extra taxes are imposed on flights or accommodation because the problem will still exist. For instance, there are many manufacturing industries that discharge gases and effluent water and cause pollution higher than tourism. On the other hand, any changes in the tax slab will definitely drop the overall growth of the country due to less income. Rather, the government should focus on the road system to reduce congestion. They should promote and subsidize electrical operated vehicles to minimize air pollution. The policy should be changed and penalised by the company that disposes of industrial water and increases pollution. For example, as per research conducted by the University of Japan, more than 100 countries are not in favour to impact their tourism by applying any tax. To conclude, I am of the opinion that tourism is the backbone of any nation. Any new rules or procedures should not be implemented which vanish the main idea and purpose of it.