Genetic engineering for both medical and agricultural purposes is causing increasing amount of controversy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of genetic engineering and explain your opinion.

It is hard to deny that genetic engineering for whatever purpose may cause some bad influences for the society when people develop it in incorrect way, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that developing genetic engineering has more disadvantages than advantages, as the results which cause by wrong behaviours could throw society into chaos. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as national status, survival of mankind and feasibility are concerned, I strongly hold that genetic engineering in medicine and agriculture will bring us more benefits in the long run. First and foremost, doing some genetic engineering research in medicine or agriculture can elevate the national status, as the level of scientific development is a symbol of national status. To be more specific, with the development of technology and economy, more and more countries attach importance to scientific research. However, developing genetic engineering in medicine or agriculture may lead to an unprecedented achievement for the country in terms of the scientific field, as such an act is a good way to improve the status of the country. Furthermore, the fact that developing genetic engineering related to medicine or agriculture can provide more possibilities for the survival of mankind. Take the case of the special rice, which is a product of genetic engineering. the total grain output has been increased because of the invention of this special rice, letting more people not suffer from hunger which causes the death of mankind. Take another case of the well-known King pill, which is a drug used to treat cancer. this pill is very expensive so many families can not afford it in the past. the drug output has been increased as the use of genetic engineering, so patients can buy it at a low price. Therefore, had it not been for developing genetic engineering, we would never have been able to improve the possibility of mankind's survival. Nevertheless, a voice arises that genetic engineering for whatever purpose will bring society a lot of problems when people develop it for personal purposes or interests as it may disrupt social order. Ironically, the government has already made some laws related to genetic engineering to restrict people's behaviour, and if the relevant authorities increase the supervision of the scientific research institutions, the problems mentioned above can be effectively avoided. Therefore, developing genetic engineering is feasible. In conclusion, I maintain that the country should develop genetic engineering for both medical and agricultural purposes as such policy is feasible to implement, and benefits our national status and the survival of mankind. Admittedly, as my favourite quote from James Madison goes,as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my articles.