Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Nowadays, many new subjects are being introduced to the mainstream education system, one of which is suggested to be the science of food and sustenance preparation. Notwithstanding those who favor this notion, many argue that time at school is supposed to be spent on keystone subjects. This essay will take both views into meticulous consideration and give the author’s viewpoint. On the one hand, in the event that it is put into teaching at school, it is not beyond the bounds that this area of studying would meet with many parents’ disapproval. Important subjects, like Math, Physics, Literature, are usually grounded on to assess students in crucial exams that may have long-term values like entrance or graduation exams, while extracurricular activities like cooking are hardly considered. Consequently, this subject may be regarded as time-consuming and academically irrelevant. What is more, since participation in an additional subject is tantamount to a rise in school time, many students may have to take the brunt of an imbalance in their schedule, namely sleep deprivation, stress accumulation and performance deterioration in main subjects. All in all, it is thought by many that students should focus on important subjects rather than nutrient-related sectors, which do not bring equivalent results at school age. On the other hand, understanding nutrients and cooking methods may have far-reaching and practical implications. First and foremost, such classes are intended to raise schoolgoers’ awareness about their intake, thus capable of being an efficacious deterrent from the unhealthy growing sensation of picking up fast food. Furthermore, cooking is counted as a survival skill and necessitated for all; therefore, beforehand preparation for children will help them in their first steps of leading an self-sufficient lifestyle, in which they are required to independently make decisions and take responsibilities, thus acquiring high sense of confidence and perseverance, personalities that betoken a compromising career path. In conclusion, albeit liable to backfire, introducing the study of sustenance and how they are processed into mainstream education can deliver some fruitful outcomes in the long run. To optimize its efficiency, this subject should be taught at a moderate frequency to spare enough time for important subjects.