Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

There is no denying that staff productivity has become crucial for companies, particularly in fast-paced environments such as the ones in current times. Some companies are of the idea that productivity could be enhanced by incentivizing their staff into physical activities. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will expound on here. Admittedly, engaging in sports activities may unfold to a happier life that could potentially lead to an increase in someone´s efficiency. However, there might be alternatives that better impact a company´s bottom line. For example, in-company courses, which can be crafted to any particular needs, could act as a catalyst for efficiency to a greater extent than covering expenses for any sports facilities. Furthermore, the relationship between health and productivity is far from clear, as there is no evidence supporting the idea of the healthier employees, the more productive they are. While perks are a way to make the staff feel valued, yet, motivated, there might be better alternatives best suited for everyone. On the other hand, physical activity has always been a synonym for a healthier life, which might end up in a higher output level at work. This may mean that workers could shake off all their stress before getting back to work, resulting in a more focused state of mind. It is the case for more stressful environments such as the financial sector, in which healthy breaks may become particularly efficient after long hours under heavy pressure. In conclusion, although facilitating sports practice to company employees might have a positive influence at work, this might not be suited for everyone. In my view, there are better ways to upgrade a company´s efficiency, such as training courses, that can be customized to any client´s expectations.