Some educationalist argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance To what extent do you agree or disagree

More often than not, high schoolers become too focused on academic curriculum for the sake of getting accepted into their desired university, without realizing the importance of any other classes. Nevertheless, it is pointed out by some educationalists that art-based subjects, for example, music, drama, art, and craft, should be included during a secondary-school year because of the expected enhancement of academic performance. This essay supports the aforementioned idea by providing 2 reasons before the conclusion is reached. To begin with, these recreational activities during the school day act like a pause before students’ next academic classes. Being stressed for a long period of time not only makes all in class lose focus but also possibly causes them burnout as well. As opposed to wasting school time by attending these classes, children can avoid forcing themselves into boring theoretical classes all day long. Besides, art-based learning makes students engage in brainstorming new ideas. This stems from these lessons’ design being open-ended, therefore, innovative quality is welcomed. Interestingly, some exam-based subjects also require students to think outside the box. For instance, there could be many approaches to solving a single math problem. As a result, creative and analytical improvement encourage learners to stay inspired. To sum up, I agree that non-exam, art-based subjects are undoubtedly crucial for high schoolers because of the fact that a break from stressful exam-based classes, in fact, helps students regain focus, and an improvement in creativity and problem-solving skills can be a tool to improve their academic performance.