In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Age -related discrimination when recruiting people for occupations is a common practice that can be observed in some nations, and the rationale behind this is obscure. Currently, a crucial discussion is going on regarding the pros and cons of creating legislation to prevent an applicant due to their age. I believe that it is a positive development to execute laws that avoid causing this unfortunate phenomenon, and this essay will elucidate it further. Firstly, it is self-evident that a person's perspective towards problems, life experiences, and level of cognitive maturity ameliorates with increased age. Such individual developments may substantially enhance their logical as well as critical thinking skills; thus, ultimately benifit benefits the workplaces they serve. They posses an extensive paradigm rather than youngsters and have a remarkable capability to think outside the box. Many researchers have proven, that application of experience related knowledge on work-related matters will immensly improve the overall performance of a company. In contrast, recruiting employees in a younger age categories based on their academic achievements can incline the cooperate to a multitude of rookie mistakes. Secondly, the social skills and self-confidence an aged-worker has can act as a charm to attract interests and will aid forging relationships woth corresponding investors and organizations. To exemplify, the anxiousness expressed by a younger recruitee in a business presentation may create a wrong impression to the executives, which will risk the partnership. However, when the same presentation is done by an older employee, they most often can build a significant impact on the audience and lead to success because of the self-esteem they have. Such communal capabilities can only be acquired with age. Therefore, hiring persons unbiased to their age will help in sustaining a good image of a company. In conclusion, it can be recapitulated that, considering the age of individuals who apply for occupations can lead to disadvantages. Consequently, creating a legal-filter to avoid this occurance can massively benifit benefits not only that particular organization, but also for the country itself.